NEC Merit Scholarship for Students of NER 2023-24

NEC Merit Scholarship for Students of NER 2023-24 is a scholarship scheme offered by the North Eastern Council (NEC), Ministry of Ministry of Development of North Eastern Region to provide financial assistance to meritorious students from the North Eastern Region (NER) of India to pursue higher professional courses in recognized Indian institutions. The selected candidates will receive up to INR 30,000 per annum.


To be eligible for the scholarship, an applicant must –

WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now
  • be a permanent resident of one of the Northeastern states (Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, and Tripura)
  • have taken admission in a diploma/degree/postgraduate course OR
  • be registered to an M.Phil. or Ph.D. programme
  • have secured a minimum of 60% marks or above
  • have passed HSLC/HSSLC/Secondary School Leaving/Senior Secondary Leaving Certificate examination from a recognised State/Central Board (for diploma courses)
  • have passed HSSLC/Senior Secondary Leaving Certificate examination from a recognised State/Central Board (for degree courses)
  • have passed a degree level examination in any discipline (B.A./B.Sc./B.E./B.Tech./M.B.B.S./LLB/BCA/BBA etc.) of any recognized institute/university (for postgraduate courses)
  • hold a PG degree from any recognised University (for M.Phil./Ph.D. programme)
  • have an annual family income of less than INR 8,00,000 from all sources

The selected students will receive the scholarship under this scheme as per the rates given below:- 

  • For diploma level courses – INR 20,000 per annum
  • For degree level courses – INR 22,000 per annum
  • For PG courses – INR 25,000 per annum
  • For M.Phil/Ph.D. degree – INR 30,000 per annum

  • Permanent residence certificate issued by the Deputy Commissioner/Additional Deputy Commissioner/Sub-divisional officers of civil sub-divisions in the North Eastern States except Sikkim where Certificate of Identification (COI) is issued by the respective Deputy Commissioner in the Govt. of Sikkim to its Permanent residents (Note:– A certificate from any other authority will not be accepted.)
  • Income certificate issued by the Competent Authority
  • Bank account passbook (Note:- Account must be in the name of the applicant.)
  • Marksheet of  previous qualifying examination
  • Synopsis signed by the project guide/director(Research) or any official authorised by the Institute/University in the case of M.Phil/Ph.D. candidates
How can you apply?

Eligible students can apply for the scholarship through the following steps –

Step 1: Click on the ‘Apply Now’ link below.
Step 2: Click on the ‘Register’ button and fill in the required registration details. (Note: If already registered, log in using Gmail/Mobile number/Email ID).
Step 3: Navigate to ‘Applicant Corner’and click on ‘New Registration’ tab.
Step 4: Read the details carefully, tick the checkbox and click on the ‘Continue’ button.
Step 5: Enter mobile number, captcha code, and OTP, then submit.
Step 6: Fill in the required details and click on ‘Save & Register’ to complete the registration process.
Step 7: Now click on the ‘Fresh Application’ tab and log in using the application ID and password.
Step 8: Fill in the required details, upload the necessary documents and submit the application.

Note – All the applicants are advised to fill the form correctly, no changes can be made once submitted. The applicants are also advised to fill in only one application as multiple applications will cancel the form.

Apply Now

Hello Friends, My Name Is Zahid Bhat Professional Content Writer That Verifies Every Content Before Uploading With Full Transparency . I Have 7 Year Experience In The Field Of Uploading Notifications About NSP Scholarship And Other Scholarship Notifications And Important Updates

Leave a Comment